Autumn Mantle

I was watching a video post in Facebook earlier this week, and the lady posed a question about our skin care routines. If they weren’t what they once were, she suggested, it can be an indicator that our self care is starting to slide, and we are putting ourselves to the bottom of the pile.

It struck a chord. Somewhere along the way I have gone from a double cleanse, tone, moisturiser, sometimes serum, occasional mask to a cleansing wipe, hot flannel and a dab of moisturiser before falling asleep.

It is so easy to slide to the bottom of our own to-do lists. If anyone is going to have a freshly made nutritionally balanced lunch, it will be Jessica. That doesn’t exclude me from having one, but where I pack up Carl’s first thing, then make hers, there is just less time and energy for me.

Just before I dozed off on the sofa last night, I realised that the mantelpiece I used to love arranging with seasonal displays has been neglected. Sympathy cards from my Dad’s passing were there, and nothing had been changed around in a while. Making those little displays is self care for me, a way to exercise a little creativity, a way to acknowledge the changing seasons, and give myself something pleasing to look at in the evening.

So after dropping Jessica at nursery this morning, I cleared everything off, dusted, rearranged. I’ve lit a candle even though I am here alone, and I am pleased with the result. 

I’ll collect some autumn leaves with Jessica later, and make a pretty garland to hang to finish it off. 

 
I can’t decide if I want to hang it from the picture rail. Out of Jessica’s reach, or from the bottom of the mantelpiece. We’ll see how it goes later!

Changing the calendar and daily peg doll with Jessica is something else which has slipped lately, so I will be getting back into that too.

For now though, I am going to sit down with a cup of tea and enjoy a few quiet minutes with my new mantlescape!

One thought on “Autumn Mantle

Leave a Reply

