May 29, 2018

May 29, 2018 is going to be a special day for me. It is 1001 days from tomorrow, September 1st. And why should that be significant? Well, I’ve decided to start my own Day Zero Project, in which I have 1001 days to complete 101 tasks of my own choosing.

I feel so excited about this! Although as Jessica has got a little older, and I’m able to leave her with her nanny or grandma for a few hours a week, I’m feeling more like myself as a person again, I still feel like I need something for me. Joining the WI has been a great start to this rediscovery and reclamation of myself, as has posting here. I don’t want to not be a wife and mum, I love those things, but now I don’t work outside the home, I had found it sometimes hard to remember who I am.

Looking after an exuberant toddler in the way I choose to, cooking from scratch and keeping house do all seem to take up a lot of time. Days seem to whizz by, and often things I have been meaning to do jupp at don’t seem to get done. So it feels in a way, when I say I have no time to do things for myself, silly to declare that I will do 101 of them! But I am hoping by making a little project of it, and pinning some things down on paper, it will help me get them done.

I plan to post here about my adventures. For now I am off to settle down with a cup of tea and a notebook to write out my list, which I will of course share here. It covers some really quite big things, such as buying a house and having another baby, to some much smaller things, like making my own croissants from scratch. It’s going to be an interesting 1001 days!

2 thoughts on “May 29, 2018

Leave a Reply

