Adventures With A Sippy Cup

I don’t intend to make all my posts about babies, but mothering is most of my world at the moment, and as I have found reading blogs by other mums really helpful, here is the first such post here.

I started breastfeeding Jessica in hospital, but after the eclampt fits, I had so many drugs they made me stop. Jessica hated it, I hated it, and she didn’t take at all to the bottle. Happily as soon as I was allowed to breastfeed again she took back to it right away…and I realise we were very lucky.

Although I hated not being able to feed her, the silver lining was that Carl got to bottle feed her (I was too poorly to) and they bonded wonderfully. Breastfeeding hasn’t been without challenges, including a burning pain which turned out to be a side effect from my medication, but I would never consider stopping. However, it would be lovely for Carl to be able to feed her sometimes, and to be able to just occasionally be away from her for an hour or so. As much as I love her, sixteen weeks with no break is a long time.

So we confidently sterilised some bottles, expressed some milk, and offered it to her. She remembered how to drink from a bottle, and all was well. Well, almost. I was not ready at all. I hated seeing her with a bottle, it reminded me too much of those early days, and made me realise how ill I had been.

And then, after a week, Jessica changed her mind. Just like that. No bottles for her. I don’t think she picked up on my feelings, as I made sure I wasn’t about for the bottle….apart from hating to see it, I read that a baby can smell her mother and milk from over ten feet away! Whatever the issue was, she just would not take a bottle at all.

We left it and tried again several times, to no avail. And so this week we are trying a sippy cup. I tried for the first time this morning. I had already given her the cup to play with, so she could be used to it. I sterilised it and expressed some milk. She had already had her first feed of the day an hour or so ago, so we snuggled in bed, I put a bit if milk in the teat to encourage her, and I offered it to her. She took in her mouth happily and gummed it a bit, but couldn’t get the milk out. So I looked online, and saw a suggestion to pull the valve out so it would free flow. So I did this, but then had to help control the flow so she didn’t choke. We got a tiny bit of milk in her, but she dribbled most of it out. She wasn’t at all distressed, but quickly lost interest. I think this is going to be a slow process! So now we have settled down for a breastfeed, and we will try again later, and keep trying gently until she either learns how to use it, or shows us that it is not for her.

We are using a Tommee Tippe sippy cup…getting the lid on was massively frustrating and took ten minutes because I couldn’t get the spout to line up between the handles….no matter what I tried! it ended up in the wrong place!

I can’t believe that we are only 2 or 3 months away from starting to wean. Time is going so quickly!

2 thoughts on “Adventures With A Sippy Cup

  1. I remember Tommee Tippe cups! My children used them way back in the day. And the lids are difficult to manage, but when the wee one learns that dropping it on the floor from the high chair is fun, the lid won’t come off easily, so no big mess to clean up.

    I’m glad to hear you are breast feeding. When my two were born mothers rarely breast fed—at least the ones I knew did not—they all had jobs to go to daily and left their babies with a sitter. So I bottle fed too. I’ve regretted it looking back because my babies did not get the benefits of mother’s milk. Both have allergies and my daughter is gluten intolerant. I think many health issues could be avoided if more babies were breast fed.

Leave a Reply

