Tuesday Morning Thoughts

One day, hopefully soon, when I have a little bit of distance from it all, I will share with you some of the things that I have had going on health-wise and work-wise recently. But for now I will just say that things are not as easy as they could be, and I have been struggling a bit. Our little baby is fine, which is the most important thing. One thing I will mention now is that I have finally found out why I have been so, so tired – I thought it was ‘just’ pregnancy, but it turns out I am anaemic. I am hoping that with some rest and a few days on my iron/folic acid combination prescription, I will start to feel a bit more myself again.

But back to today. Tuesday morning, and a curious Tuesday. Outside it looked and felt like it was raining, only it wasn’t. The paths were dark and damp, the sky was overcast, and people had that hurrying-scurrying gait to their walk, as though trying to dodge raindrops that weren’t actually there.

My last day off work before going back tomorrow, so I decided to take myself out for an airing. I walked into town, and sat and drank a pot of tea while reading the newspaper. Bliss…Then I wandered through the market where I didn’t find the rhubarb I wanted, but I did find the perfect dusky-purple yarn I wanted to crochet a pair of slippers as a Mothers Day gift. Into the library to change my books, and while I was there, I bumped into a few friends I used to work with.

From there, home, where I have made a cup of tea, opened the bedroom window, put on Radio 4, changed into my nightie and got into bed. I plan to drink my tea and read a book (Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen, one of my favourite authors) before having a nap. I might go out this afternoon for another walk, I might take a bath. It is so lovely just to have a little bit of space and time to rest. Taking yourself off to bed is a Brocante Home puttery treat that I don’t do very often, but when I do, it feels like the height of luxury.

While I am laying here, my little girl is kicking away in my tummy. She is usually most busy while I am resting – when I am walking around, I think the motion rocks her off to sleep. When I woke up this morning, she was kicking. It makes me smile, there is no other feeling quite like it. I realised that I could have as little as ten weeks or as many as fourteen weeks left of feeling her kick like this, before she is born. And although I can’t wait to hold her in my arms at last, and meet this little girl, I will really miss the gentle kicks.

I don’t want to make my blog all about my pregnancy, but it is such a special time. I always said I didn’t want to be one of those women who complain a lot during pregnancy, as I know we tried for long enough for a baby, and I know too many  people who would dearly love the chance to be pregnant, but haven’t yet been blessed. So yes, I am exhausted a lot of the time (although hopefully that will pass soon!) and my back is so painful at times it makes me cry, and I can’t remember the last time I slept through the night…but I wouldn’t change it for the world. I catch sight of my burgeoning belly reflected in a window or a mirror, or feel those little kicks, and realise that I am so, so lucky.

There won’t be many more Tuesdays left like this. A lot of them will be spent at work, and then when I am on maternity leave, I will be packing up our home bit by bit ready to move, and getting ready for the baby. And then, then she will be here, and although I can’t imagine quite what it will be like, I know that life won’t be the same again, in the best possible way!

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Morning Thoughts

  1. Hi Mimi,

    I’m sorry that things haven’t been going very well for you, but I’m glad that you’re overcoming the struggles as they arise (I suppose that’s the job of a mother!) and enjoying the good bits, too. I know that pregnancy isn’t easy, but at least you’re getting the right treatment. I hope that your return to work goes well and that you’re feeling much better soon.

    Best wishes,
    Tash from vintagepretty.org

  2. Hi Mimi,
    I love hearing about your pregnancy. It is a wonderful part of life. I have a daughter who is now 30 yrs old and I still have fond memories of being pregnant and raising her. It’s such a big time in your life that it has to be talked about.
    I hope the other parts of your life will fall into place too. You have such a lovely blog and it really cheers me up. It’s good to know someone who loves tea and homemaking as much as I do.
    Best wishes,
    Teresa

Leave a Reply

