Burns Night

I love the high days and holidays scattered throughout the year. I like the planning of the celebrating of them, from the smaller things like Burns Night to the bigger things like birthdays and bridal showers.

On Friday, our BAEMN (Black and Ethnic Minority Network) at work held a Burns Night Lunch.  (If they are looking t raise awareness then they are doing a good job, I hadn’t ever thought of Scotland falling into that category!) I nearly didn’t go, as I had a meeting that overrran, but I decided to pop in, and I am so glad I did! Everyone was having such a good time – both the people putting on the event, and those taking part. There was a 3 course lunch of Cock-a-Leekie Soup, Haggis with Neeps and Tatties, and the most delicious Cranachan (an oaty, creamy, raspberry dessert) which was just £3, and as I got there,  a lady did Scottish County Dancing to live bagpipe music.

After that, there were group country dances, and they got people up out of the audience to learn some steps and join in. Alas I am not very nimble or coordinated at the moment, so I sat it out, but it was really fun to watch.

Yesterday, Carl and I had a Burns Night Dinner, but at lunch time, as we were babysitting in the evening. We were so full it made us really sleepy, but it was lovely. There was smoked salmon with hollandaise sauce and a poached egg on a toasted muffin to start, then Haggis, Neeps and Tatties, followed by medallions of Venison, and finished with a chocolate tart with whisky cream.

So, I think we can consider Burns Night well and truly celebrated!

Leave a Reply

