3rd Time Lucky

This morning dawned scoured clean by winds and rain, definitely the kind of morning that would  make you want to stay at home. However, I had a very good reason for wanting to go out this morning – an appointment at the hospital for our 20 week scan! 

I actually felt quite nervous this morning- while I was looking forward to seeing our baby again, I also dreaded hearing the words ‘I’m sorry, but…’ and I am happy to report that we have a healthy little baby in there!

However we also have a baby with a mind of it’s own! The baby was laying in the wrong position for some of the important measurements to be taken, so the sonographer sent us off for a walk and to eat something sweet. That was my first (and probably last!) medically prescribed Mars Bar! 

When we got back, alas, the baby was still in exactly the same position as before. Our sonographer even tried tipping the bed up and backwards, but still the baby was comfortable, so we went for another walk, this time up and down stairs, a can of coke, and this time it helped a bit, and the baby had moved round. 

The amount of detail they can show you is just amazing – I was entranced by the little hands with tiny fingers, and feet with little toes…but even more amazing was to come. We saw the vertebrae in the spine, the kidneys, the bladder, the stomach, even the cerebellum in the brain (it looks juts like a butterfly!). 

The only thing they couldn’t see properly was the heart – it was beating away, but they couldn’t take the measurements that they needed, so we have to go back in 2 weeks so they could have another go. Interestingly, there were 4 other Mothers also walking the corridors trying to get their babies to move!

Third time did prove to be the charm in one respect though…where the baby had shifted position slightly, they were able to tell us that we are expecting a baby girl! I would have been just as happy with a little boy, but I have thought all along it is a little girl, so it was nice to be proved right! It feels so amazing to be able to say ‘she’ and ‘her’ rather than ‘it’ or ‘the baby’. 

I bought my first maternity dress today – it is green with tiny printed bows all over it. I was surprised by how pregnant I look in it! I seem to have spent the first months of pregnancy feeling very pregnant but looking the same as usual, and now suddenly I am starting to feel ‘normal’ again, but am starting to look very different! 

We also each picked out something for the baby – Carl chose a little babygrow that says ‘I love my daddy’ and I chose a little t-shirt which had a mouse in a teacup on the front with ‘time for tea’ underneath! 

It is hard to believe, but wonderful,  that not only can we say ‘we are having a baby this year’ but also ‘we are having a baby girl this year!’

 

One thought on “3rd Time Lucky

  1. Congratulations Mimi! I am new to your blog. I hope that you enjoy the rest of your pregnancy and that all goes well for your little family.

Leave a Reply

