Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014

Every New Year’s Eve, or if I haven’t had time, New Year’s Day, I like to partake of a little ritual, to wash the old year out of my hair, and prepare the way for the new one. I take a long hot shower, and use my favourite body scrub, by the Sanctuary, which smells heavenly. As I wash the salt from my skin, I think about the stresses, sadnesses and disappointments of the previous year being washed down the plughole with them. I let go of regrets, forgive anything that needs forgiving, and put the old year to bed. The salt scrub I use leaves a lovely layer of moisturising scented oil on your skin, and for me, that represents all the happy moments and lovely things the old year has brought. And there I am, ready to go into the new year, with a slate metaphorically wiped clean.

I can’t pretend that 2013 has been the best year for me, but there have been many happy moments, and every cloud has a silver lining. Undoubtedly the best moment was seeing the pregnancy test I was sure was negative show positive instead.

And so 2014 lays ahead. Tonight is a new moon, which seems right somehow, for a new year. I know there are some big changes ahead for me this year, which I think I have talked about already, but I feel relaxed and ready for them, as ready as you can be, anyway. Somehow,  known unknowns seem less scary than unknown unknowns.

So tonight, dinner with dear friends who we have seen the New Year in with for more years than I can count. Of course I won’t be drinking this year, and will be having a much earlier night than usual. I had an afternoon nap earlier and will be taking my duvet and new novel (the second in the Simon Serrailer series by Susan Hill) so that when tiredness overtakes me I can retire and snuggle up to read before drifting to sleep.

Tomorrow I will take a gentle wander down to the newsagent for the morning paper, and have lunch with Carl’s friends. Then home again, home to savour the first pot of tea of the New Year, home to read and potter, just to be. 

And as I sit here, typing my last post of this year, I can’t help but think how lucky I am. So lucky to have a wonderful husband, a fantastic family, and friends who are so close they are my second family. Lucky to have my little space on the internet to blog, to have those of you who are kind enough to read my scribblings regularly. Lucky to have an appreciation for tea in vintage cups, a rainbow on Christmas day, a hand-stitched lavender bag, hot water bottles and cosy shawls. Lucky to not only be able to read for pleasure but to love it so much it is part of me. Lucky to have enough. And lucky, so lucky to have this tiny life growing inside me. There are so many other things I am grateful for…but it all boils down to the essentials, doesn’t it? To have people in your life that you love, and they love you. To have a life that you love. To know love.

I wish this and so much more for all of you.

Happy New Year!

Love, Mimi xxx

3 thoughts on “Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014

  1. Hope 2014 is a great one for you. Your little one will be here before you know it. I am impressed that you are getting so organized so early in the year. Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

