Reading, Baking, Listening, Making…

Over the last few weeks I have read Mister Pip, The Priory by Dorothy Whipple and The Queen’s Fool by Philippa Gregory. I adored the Priory, Mister Pip was a lot better than I thought (although it did take a sudden sinister turn towards the end) and I am devouring The Queen’s Fool. My happiest discovery this year so far has been Dorothy Whipple!

I have been baking a little, too, and planning to bake. The ever lovely Vintage Pretty has given me a recipe for pumpkin cake with orange buttercream frosting. I had to make a special trip to get a can of pumpkin puree, and this Sunday I am going to be tying on my pinny and baking up a storm.

I have been listening to Sex On Fire by The Kings of Leon. I am hardly ever, ever, ever up with ‘current’ music but this is really catchy. I have also been discovering and enjoying Hilary Hahn, who is an amazingly talented classical violinist. Bliss.

I have been making a scarf, and planning a tea cozy, and a hot water bottle cover. Also I have been planning some Halloween gifts for my work friends. I am going to cut squares of black tissue or crepe paper, fill them with spooky sweets, and tie with orange ribbon. Then I am going to make some little tags out of orange card, and stick a black button on them, and draw legs coming out, to make button spiders!

I also want to put up my autumn wreath on the front door, and am toying with the idea of making a halloween wreath too. I love to decorate our little flat!

One thought on “Reading, Baking, Listening, Making…

  1. Hello Mimi, it sounds as if you are “nesting”…your Halloween idea for your friends at work sounds fun. I might do the same as you if you don’t mind!Sincerely, Kathy L

Leave a Reply

